0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
« Back to appendix

12-Bar Minor Blues Chord Progression

Another variation on the basic blues chord progression is the 12-bar minor blues chord progression with the minor tonality in place of major. There are strong similarities to the standard 12-bar blues progression.

General Elements of the 12-Bar Minor Blues chord progression
1. The progression is 12 measures long.
2. The 5th measure is the subdominant (IV chord), or the chord based on the fourth step of the Tonic scale.
3. The 9th measure begins a cadence progressing to the tonic (I chord).

Play 12-Bar Minor Blues Chord Progression