0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z




A scale of six notes discovered in the Middle Ages and used to teach theory. The six notes correspond to the first six notes of the modern major scale. There were three hexachords

1. hexachordum durum: G, A, B♮, C, D, E
The six-note scale based upon G, containing B♮, called B durum.
2. hexachordum natural: C, D, E, F, G, A
The six-note scale based upon C, containing no B.
3. hexachordum molle: F, G, A, B♭, C
The six note scale based upon F, containing BB (B molle).


Last Updated: 2013-02-14 19:11:42