0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Requiem Mass


The Mass for the Dead; it takes its name from the opening words of the Introit, Requiem aeternam dona eis, Domine, meaning, "Rest eternal grant to them, Lord." The current form of the Requiem Mass was established by Pope Pius V in 1570 and the only significant change took place in 1972 when the Dies irae sequence was removed. The Requiem Mass is typically sung on November 2, All Souls' Day for all deceased, however, can be sung at any time in memory of a specific person. It can be sung on the day of burial, and on the third, seventh and 30th days after interment.
The Requiem Mass is a Proper Mass that omits certain, more joyful sections (Gloria, Credo and Alleluia) and adds other sections with a more somber nature. The following sequences may be included: 
Introit (Requiem Aeternam) 
Kyrie Eleison
Dies Irae 
Domine Jesu (Offertorium) 
Pie Jesu 
Agnus Dei
Lux Aeternum 
Libera Me 
In Paradisum


Requiem Mass, Classical: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Requiem in D minor, K 626, Dies Irae, "Quantus tremor"

Requiem Mass, Romantic: Giuseppe Verdi: Requiem, "Dies Irae"

See Also

[English] mass for the dead
[French] messe des morts (f)
[German] Totenmesse (f)
[Italian] Requiem (m)
[Italian] messa dei defunti (f)
[Italian] messa di Requiem (f)


Last Updated: 2013-05-02 21:15:08