0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

chromatic scale

kroe-MA-tik skale


A scale which divides the octave into its semitones. There are twelve semitones, or half steps, to an octave in the chromatic scale.
See modern-scale-construction in the Appendix.


Johann Sebastian Bach: "Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue" in D minor, BWV 903

Aram Khatchaturian: Gayne Suite No. 1, "Sabre Dance"

Richard Wagner: "Tristan und Isolde", Prelude


Last Updated: 2016-05-21 13:07:16